As you may or may not have read, I’m a teacher over here in the Old World. I teach mostly adults, which means that at the end of the year or semester, or around the holidays, I get some amazing gifts.

Here’s my case-in-point for the blog post. This is from ONE class, and I teach upwards of 12. If you can imagine that no less than half of them gave me something chocolate-related as an end-of-whatever gift, you’d be underestimating.

What is that, you are asking? It’s a fricking gift package from a company called Art of Chocolate. I’d like to state, for the record, that AoC makes some of the BEST chocolate I’ve had here in Germany, and I think they might be a German company. (As an aside, the best chocolate I’ve had in Europe comes specifically from Gent, in Belgium). With flavor bars like Créme Brulee and Apple Strudel, one really can’t go wrong.

That aside, this package is chock-full of broken personal anti-sweets resolutions. And that’s kind of what I wanted to write about today, now that I’ve coexisted with this package for a little over a week… dealing with THIS kind of gift giving during the holidays when you’re ‘trying to be good’. This is a failure in a basket, amirite? An amazing gift from totally adoring students, but I really don’t want to think about all of this stuff (minus the brown nail polish, score for my students who remember my weakness for OPI) resting in my stomach, on my hips, or on top of my future six- or eight-pack.

So what to do when you’ve got this amazing package (and probably more) at your house?

I’m not a nutritionist, or a doctor, but I think I’m pretty good at living life, so I’m going to tell you what I do and what I’m planning on doing.

First, I plan to try at least one bite of everything in this box. But I’m not going to do it all in one day, as that would send me back to the dentist sooner than my next scheduled visit. I’m going to practice moderation (and I have been) and maybe try one different thing every day, or every other day. This was a gift, and I do intend to enjoy at least SOME of it.

Second, I am going to share the hell out of it. My boyfriend might not be interested in trying the stuff, but his mother, sister and brother’s girlfriend are ALL going to be at our house today for coffee and tea, and I intend to send them home with at least some of the above in THEIR stomachs as opposed to mine. ‘Tis the season, you know?

That’s my plan in a nutshell. I think it’s a good one. This package is seriously more sugar than any person should ingest on their own. I love it, and I love chocolate, and my students totally remembered that I can only have dark chocolate so that’s the majority of what’s in there. It would be wrong and almost disrespectful NOT to enjoy the gift. But to have so much great stuff in the house and NOT eat it is also a great practice in moderation, and I think it’s important to practice moderation ALL THE TIME. So that’s what I’m going to do.

At this point I’d like to make a small note to all of the weight and health conscious people out there. The holiday season is inevitable and can’t be avoided, kind of like death and taxes. Winter comes. Our bodies are composed of pretty much the same stuff they were composed of when we were hunting and gathering, which means that whether we like it or not, as soon as the temperature drops our bodies start storing up for the long winter ahead. Unless you live in like, Miami or SoCal. But whatever. The point I’m trying to make is that we really can’t avoid SOME weight gain, and it’s an exercise in futility to try.

I’m not saying this to take away anyone’s bathing-suit season hopes and dreams, I’m saying it so people can try to really relax during the holidays and not be SO concerned about what part of their bodies the candied yams are going to call their new home. It’s going to happen unless you step up the workouts, which kind of never seems to happen, so just be ok with it, rock a skirt or dress for the two weeks following while you work off whatever extra weight you’ve gained.

Because seriously, nothing hides weight gain like a great skirt or dress. Spoken by the girl with a closet full of them. I own two pairs of suit pants and 15 skirts. 10 dresses. Rowr.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

